“Oh Boy” Waffles

Once upon a time him and her fell in love and decided to get married. She moved into the apartment first and began to make a house a home. Last week they had their first visitors over for a late brunch of waffles.


Image


IMG_4289

I have searched all over the internet for a whole wheat, clean, waffle recipe that I loved. I found the most delicious recipe in my 7th grade home economics cook book (I’m surprised I still have it after all these years!), except I substituted whole wheat flour for the normal white flour. I have gotten multiple compliments on how tasty the waffles are, and you can’t even tell that they are “healthy”. They are becoming one of my weaknesses.


ImageIMG_4262Image

Oh Boy” Waffles

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

2 tbsp sugar (I use honey or no calorie sweetener)

1 egg (or ¼ c applesauce

1 cup + 2 tbsp milk

¼ cup oil (I use a little less)

Turn waffle maker on to heat while making waffles. Mix all dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl. In a small bowl mix the liquid ingredients together and then add to the dry ingredients. Blend (If you don’t have a hand mixer, a blender works great!). Grease the waffle maker. Pour batter into the waffle maker and close the lid. Most waffle makers tell you when the waffle is complete.

Do you have a favorite waffle recipe? 

Let me know if you try these! I’d love to hear what you think!

-Ash

 

Leave a Reply

