Who Likes Taquitos?

I find so much joy in finding an unhealthy food item and turning it into something that is healthy. Taquitos were top on my list lately because Colton lives off of these during architecture. I couldn’t help but think how many processed taquitos he was consuming. I decided to make a healthier version and see what he thought.

I changed a few things, but you can find the original recipe here.

My two favorite clean eating blogs are: 100 Days of Real Food The Gracious Pantry. They both have such awesome recipe ideas that I know will fuel my body properly.

Instead of chicken I used 3 lb lean ground turkey.

I skipped the nutritional yeast.

I used white flour tortillas (Colt doesn’t like corn tortillas) and the cleanest whole wheat tortillas I could find because I didn’t have time to make my own (40-48 tortillas total). If you want to make your own, here is a fantastic recipe!

4 Tablespoons garlic powder

4 Tablespoons onion powder

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 Cup clean salsa

Fry the meat till cooked through.

IMG_20140512_182338

Add the garlic powder, onion powder, olive oil, and salsa  to the pan. Stir till mixed completely.

IMG_20140512_182430

Spread a little bit on 1/3 of the tortilla.

IMG_20140512_182547

Start rolling the tortilla.

IMG_20140512_182634

At this point, I froze these and ate them later. If you want to cook them, coat them with a little olive oil (a spray bottle of olive oil works best) and bake at 400 F till golden brown (aprox. 20 minutes).

IMG_20140512_182723

Colton loved these! He said they were almost as good as the flour taquitos he loves and were but were so much better than the corn taquitos!

IMG_20140524_220424

It melted my heart when he said that he can’t wait to take these to school and when people ask what he’s eating he will tell them that they are homemade taquitos made by his wife – how cute is he?

Leave a Reply

