5 Week Flexibility Program

IMG_20150630_201741

Did you know that, according to ACSM’s Guidelines (the gold standard regarding all things fitness) you should be working on your flexibility more than 2 times per week? Chances are, you probably don’t even stretch once per week. That was me up until this past year when I made a new year’s resolution to stretch more often. You’d think that because I love fitness and being active that I would already be working on my flexibility on a regular basis. False. I am a work in progress and still working on my consistency with it.

There are so many positive benefits of being flexible. These listed are just a few of the many good things that can happen if one stretches 2-3 times per week: Prevention of injury, greater ROM (range of motion), easier time performing ADLs (Activities of Daily Living – sitting down, cooking, cleaning, etc.), decreased lower back pain, better performance, among many others. Don’t those sound awesome?

This summer I had the opportunity to design a 5 week flexibility program for a client and I’m sharing it with you! If you’re looking to become more flexible, and overall healthy, I highly suggest trying out this 5 week program. It is 2-3 days per week for less than 10 minutes per session. That’s doable, right?

If you try it out, let me know what you think!

xoxo,

Ashley

Stretching Weeks 1-5

Leave a Reply

