Road Trippin’ The Healthy Way

The stereotypical road trip leads to loading up on lots of junk food at every gas station break. Am I right? Chips, candy, sodas, ice cream, slushies, the list goes on and on. It doesn’t have to be that way though. You can still munch away during your road trip without sacrificing your health. Some of these snack options can even be bought at the gas station, so need to feel like you’re missing out!

I’m going to California for my best friend’s wedding (Yay Katelin and Corey!) Wednesday evening and I don’t want to let my eating completely slip into the depths of unhealthiness. To set myself up for success, I’ll be packing my own healthy snacks and bringing along my exercise band.

Here are some ideas of what I’ll be packing/buying to keep my hunger at bay for the long stretches of driving, breakfasts, and afternoon/evening snacks.

Healthier Road Trip Snack Ideas. Fruits & Veggies, Peanut Butter, String Cheese, Yogurt, Chex Trail Mix, Beef Jerky, Egg Muffins, Oat Muffins

Healthier Road Trip Snack Ideas. The M&M’s are not for myself 😉

These oatmeal muffins are so delicious. I’m sure they would be even tastier with all of the sugar the recipe calls for. Since I don’t want to consume all that sugar, I used 1/4 of the sugar recommended.

Oatmeal Muffins. You can add any type of toppings you like. I really enjoy doing banana and almond or chocolate chips and banana.

Oatmeal Muffins. You can add any type of toppings you like. I really enjoy doing banana and almond or chocolate chips and banana.

These egg muffins are so versatile in that you can add anything you want to them. (Check this out!) You can cook egg whites or a whole egg (like I did) or make a scramble mixture and add meats/toppings. Both are great protein options for a quick breakfast.

Protein-packed egg muffins. I made some with 2 egg whites and others with one whole egg.

Protein-packed egg muffins. I made some with 2 egg whites and others with one whole egg.


Unfortunately our hotel does not have a gym so I’ll be bringing my exercise band and doing some body weight resistance training. My goal is to complete at least 4 workouts during our 6 day vacation. Check out here, here, and here to see some of the workouts I’ll be doing on vacay!

Leave a Reply

